Restoration and Conservation Projects

St. James Chapel

St. James Chapel

Restoration of the chapel has spanned roughly two decades. Thanks to efforts of members and community volunteers, this picturesque landmark once again stands proudly.

Sallie Michaux House

Sallie Michaux House

Purchased in 2007 by the Foundation, the house adjacent to the St. James Chapel was found to date back to 1859 and was originally the home of Miller and Sallie Michaux.

Michaux Cemetery

Michaux Cemetery

The Michaux Family Cemetery dates back to 1717. Thanks to the stewardship of MSJF, it remains one of the oldest and most wonderfully picturesque cemeteries in Virginia.

Old River Trail

Old River Trail

Originally settled by French Huguenots, the area surrounding Old River Trail is the site of the once thriving village of Pineville (AKA Michaux).

The James River

The James River

A Central Virginia treasure, Michaux-St. James Foundation members are comitted to the environmental preservation of this beautiful natural resource.

The Privy

The Old Outhouse

No circa 1882 chapel would be complete without the only plumbing available during that era. The original outhouse was barely standing until a group of members lovingly restored it.

The Old Green Truck

Old Truck

This old truck was discovered during the removal of some trees behind the Sallie Michaux House. We feel it also is deserving of a facelift.